News & Events

Patrick Heagerty elected to the National Academy of Medicine

Patrick Heagerty, PhD, professor of biostatistics, is one of three UW School of Public Health faculty elected to the National Academy of Medicine today.

Patrick Heagerty

Election to the Academy recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service. More than two dozen SPH faculty members have been elected to the NAM.

"This is one the greatest honors in our field, and so well-deserved by each of our faculty being recognized," said Hilary Godwin, dean of the UW School of Public Health.

The Academy cited Heagerty for his "development of novel statistical models for longitudinal data to better diagnose disease, track its trajectory, and predict its outcomes. He has revolutionized how dynamic predictors are judged by their discrimination and calibration and has significantly advanced methods for randomized controlled trials."

Heagerty is director of the Center for Biomedical Statistics and former chair of the Department of Biostatistics. "I am grateful for the recognition of the key role that biostatistics plays in the generation and evaluation of biomedical evidence, and I appreciate the outstanding colleagues that I have worked with for the past 25 years at UW," Heagerty said.

The other SPH scientists elected to the Academy are:

  • Joel Kaufman, MD, MPH, professor of environmental & occupational health sciences and epidemiology (School of Public Health) and general internal medicine (UW School of Medicine)
  • Sean Sullivan, BScPharm, PhD, dean and professor of the UW School of Pharmacy and professor of health services (School of Public Health).

Read more

by Jeff Hodson, UW School of Public Health